Written by Jonny Havoc



Stream Barren Womb’s Hard Hitting New Track “Kill Hicks” Today At

January 28, 2014 – Los Angeles, CA – Seattle based indie label Spartan Records is proud to announce the signing of Norwegian hardcore band Barren Womb and the upcoming release of their debut full-length album, The sun’s not yellow, it’s chicken, on March 11th . The record will be available digitally and on limited edition vinyl, which can be pre-ordered now at

In anticipation for the upcoming release, has premiered the first new track, “Kill Hicks,” today. Stream it now at

"”Kill Hicks” was one of the last songs we finished up for the record, and it came together fast,” says guitarist/vocalist Tony Gonzahl. “We had this kind of bluegrass influenced riff kicking about for a little while, but hadn't really had the chance to do much with it. Then one day we started jamming and that riff came up. A couple of hours later we had the song pretty much done. Although there is a lot of beauty to humanity, I feel that right now the negative far outweighs the positive. This is not a holier-than-thou attitude, I most definitely see myself as part of the problem. Lyrically Kill Hicks deals with apathy and the bleak future ahead of us if we continue on this path.”

Formed late 2011 in Trondheim, Norway, the duo, featuring Gonzahl and Timo Silvola (drums), blends hardcore punk with elements of black metal, rock 'n' roll, and country to create a nasty swill all of their own, while recalling some of the greats before them like Refused, Turbonegro, The Bronx, Drive Like Jehu and The Hives. Sometimes it's fast and intense, other times slow and pulsating. Seldom however is it quite like anything heard before, always keeping somewhat to the left of the beaten path.

After a handful of successful singles and EP's, the Norwegian noise mongers are now set to unleash their first full length, entitled The sun's not yellow, it's chicken, with their new label Spartan Records.

“We went to the top of the world to find our newest band and we couldn't be more excited about releasing the debut full-length album from the Norway's Barren Womb,” says Spartan Records’ label head John Frazier. As only a duo, they have written one of the most interesting heavy records of the year - a record that is diverse from beginning to end and ripe with some strong commentary about the current state of our world. We can't wait for people to hear the record on March 11th!

From the first jangly chords of the opener "Kill Hicks," The sun’s not yellow, it’s chicken quickly becomes apparent how much the band has grown since their previous efforts. The dynamics are broader, the songwriting more focused and the sound is heavier - all topped off with the bleakest lyrics they've written to date.

Recorded by Ole Spangrud of Mørkemakt at Better Than Your Ducking Studio Studios and mixed by the band themselves, The sun's not yellow, it's chicken features 13 blisteringly honest noise punk ditties, all set in the key of apocalypse. Look for it at digital outlets and on limited edition vinyl on March 11th on Seattle's Spartan Records.

Follow Barren Womb now at for additional news and updates.

The sun’s not yellow, it’s chicken Track Listing:
1. Kill Hicks
2. Will you be God's art or Satan's graffiti?
3. Evil prevails
4. Only Rain Man doesn't change
5. Nábrók
6. Obi-Wan Chernobyl
7. From robot jobs to robot homes
8. Live fast, die.
9. Bong Aqua
10. Zombies never go out of style
11. Assmasters of reality
12. Nexus Diplomis
13. Segway to heaven

For More Information:

Latest Articles and Interviews